Follow us on Facebook!

© 2019 KATE Umwelt & Entwicklung e.V.

Sustainable travel improves the world. 

Tourism & Development

The tourism sector is not only one of the fastest growing economic sectors, but also one of the most important in the world today. In 2017, it contributed a respectable ten percent towards global economic output. According to the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC), every tenth job is linked to the tourism industry.

However, this enormous growth is not without its downsides. Tourism is not only a major contributor to global challenges such as climate change and resource depletion, but is itself affected and suffers as a result of these dynamics. The littering of dream beaches, unchecked floods of tourists that are becoming a problem for many holiday destinations ("over-tourism" phenomenon), loss of biodiversity, the boom in cruise tourism and "low-cost airlines", overburdened infrastructure, gentrification and human rights violations are gradually making the industry and travellers sit up and take notice.

Against this background, the concept of sustainable tourism is more topical than ever before and requires further action. If appropriately managed, tourism, especially in countries of the global South, offers great development opportunities for building infrastructure, creating jobs and thus income, promoting local economic cycles, preserving natural resources and thus reducing poverty among the population. Tourism can thus make a significant contribution to global sustainable development, and for this reason the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of Agenda 2030 explicitly call on tourism to take responsibility.

For more than 10 years, we have been committed to sustainable tourism in Germany and around the world, from which everyone has something to gain. Central aspects of our work are included:

  • Creation of sustainable sources of income and development of infrastructure 

  • Fair working conditions and respect for human rights

  • Protection of the environment and natural resources

  • Preservation of natural and cultural treasures

A focus on people and the environment 

Strengthening local value creation

  • Strengthening the economic, political and social circumstances of the local population

  • Involvement of the local population in tourism decisions

  • Promotion of local procurement

  • Promotion of small, local and sustainable suppliers

SDGs & Tourism

  • Supporting companies and organisations in implementing the Sustainable Development Goals in tourism

  • Promoting the contribution of tourism to sustainable regional and economic development

  • Specific examples of case studies, tips, best practices and further training for the transformation of the industry towards the targets set in Agenda 2030

Our Tourism Projects

Folgen Sie uns auf Facebook!

© 2019 KATE Umwelt & Entwicklung e.V.

Nachhaltig Reisen verbessert die Welt.

Tourismus & Entwicklung

Der Tourismussektor ist nicht nur einer der am schnellsten wachsenden, sondern auch einer der bedeutendsten Wirtschaftszweige der Gegenwart. Im Jahr 2017 trug er gut zehn Prozent zur globalen Wirtschaftsleistung bei. Laut dem World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) steht zudem jeder zehnte Arbeitsplatz in Verbindung mit der Tourismusbranche.

 

Diese enorme Wachstumsentwicklung geht jedoch nicht ohne Schattenseiten einher. Der Tourismus trägt nicht nur wesentlich zu globalen Herausforderungen wie Klimawandel und Ressourcenschwund bei, sondern ist selbst von diesen Dynamiken betroffen und leidet darunter. Die Vermüllung von Traumstränden, ungebremste Touristenfluten, die für viele Urlaubsgebiete zum Problem werden (Phänomen "Overtourism“), Biodiversitätsverluste, der Boom des Kreuzfahrttourismus und "Billigflieger", überlastete Infrastruktur, Gentrifizierung und Menschenrechtsverletzungen, lassen die Branche und die Reisenden nach und nach aufhorchen.

Das Konzept eines nachhaltigen Tourismus ist vor diesem Hintergrund so aktuell wie nie zuvor und bedarf weiterer Handlungsschritte. Denn in der richtigen Ausgestaltung bietet der Tourismus insbesondere in Ländern des globalen Südens große Entwicklungschancen, um Infrastruktur aufzubauen, Arbeitsplätze und somit Einkommen zu schaffen, lokale Wirtschaftskreisläufe zu fördern, Naturschätze zu bewahren und auf diese Weise auch die Armut der Bevölkerung zu reduzieren. Der Tourismus kann so wesentlich zu einer globalen nachhaltigen Entwicklung beitragen und wird aus diesem Grund in den Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) der Agenda 2030 ausdrücklich dazu aufgefordert, Verantwortung zu übernehmen.

Wir setzen uns seit über 10 Jahren für einen nachhaltigen Tourismus in Deutschland und weltweit ein, von dem alle etwas haben. Zentrale Aspekte unserer Arbeit sind dabei:

  • Schaffung nachhaltiger Einkommensquellen und Aufbau von Infrastruktur

  • Faire Arbeitsbedingungen und Wahrung der Menschenrechte

  • Schutz der Umwelt und natürlichen Ressourcen

  • Bewahrung von Natur- und Kulturschätzen

Mensch & Umwelt im Mittelpunkt

Stärkung der lokalen Wertschöpfung

  • Stärkung der wirtschaftlichen, politischen und sozialen Lebenssituation der lokalen Bevölkerung

  • Einbeziehung der Bevölkerung vor Ort in Tourismusentscheidungen

  • Förderung der lokalen Beschaffung

  • Förderung von kleinen, lokalen und nachhaltig agierenden Anbietern

SDGs & Tourismus

  • Unterstützung von Unternehmen und Organisationen bei der Umsetzung der Sustainable Development Goals im Tourismus

  • Förderung des Beitrag des Tourismus zu einer nachhaltigen Regional- und Wirtschaftsentwicklung

  • Konkrete Handlungsbeispiele, Tipps, Best-Practices und Weiterbildungen zur Transformation der Branche im Sinne der Agenda 2030