Chimborazo - in the footsteps of Alexander von Humboldt.

Development of a sustainable Destination Chimborazo

The delveloPPP project "Development of a sustainable tourist destination Chimborazo Ecuador" consists of a consortium of Ventura Travel and KATE. 


Project duration: 2019 - 2021

In general, the project aims at promoting the community-based marketing of the sustainable tourism destination "Chimborazo Nature Reserve" in Ecuador. Ecuador with its "Cuatro Mundos" Amazon region, Andes, coast and Galapagos Islands has traditionally been an important tourist destination. Especially the nature reserve Chimborazo has an enormous potential in this context. It is a central place where almost all tourist groups travelling through Ecuador pass by. The almost 6,300 metre high inactive Chimborazo volcano not only inspired European natural scientists such as Alexander von Humboldt or Edward Whymper in the past, but also numerous scientists and tourists today. In addition to the Vicuña herds (an alpaca species), many indigenous communities with their traditions and cultural customs live in the national park around Chimborazo.

 

Community-based tourism, especially in this region, offers the opportunity to make contact with the local population at eye level and to experience authentic insights into life, land, tradition and culture.

Aims of the Project

The aim of the project is to establish a community and tourism network that develops sustainable tourism products with local and European tour operators such as Ventura and markets them via a booking portal. The sustainable destination development of the Chimborazo region and the development / marketing of sustainable communities via the booking portal are the two "core elements" of the project. The booking portal should be aimed at travellers and offer direct booking options, e.g. for sustainable accommodation and other tourism products.

Planned project results & current progress

Sustainable destination management

  • Development of a destination management system for the Chimborazo Nature Reserve

  • Appointment of the Destination Manager from the Ministry of Environment in Ecuador

  • Establishment of the Sustainability Council 

  • The determination of destination boundaries and the decision of the participating communities are currently in the process of being made

  • Workshops for the development of a common mission statement and action plan as destination strategy 

Development of sustainable tourism products 

Together with the European tour operator Ventura and other tour operators, the community and business network of the destination Chimborazo is currently developing new and high-quality sustainable tourism offers in the destination. For example, the following product ideas are currently in the process of being developed: Construction of a second access road to the volcanic mountain Chimborazo including a refuge in another province, development of a Vicuña route, etc.

Development of a booking portal for sustainable tourism products

  • The content of the booking portal has been largely implemented: The aim is to present the booking portal at the ITB (leading trade fair of the international tourism industry). 

  • International marketing and positioning of the destination Chimborazo is to be achieved via the booking portal as a sales platform for sustainable destinations and community tourism.

Increasing local value creation in the Chimborazo Nature Reserve

Generation of additional sources of income from tourism for the participating communities.

Participating Project Actors

The activities of the project are coordinated by KATE and Ventura Travel.

The Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) supports the project financially.

Your contact persons for the project Sustainable Destination Chimborazo

Günter Koschwitz

Project coordinator

+49 711 248397 - 0

koschwitz[at]kate-stuttgart.org

Janina Rapp

Project manager

+49 711 248397 - 19

janina.rapp[at]kate-stuttgart.org

Follow us on Facebook!

© 2020 KATE Umwelt & Entwicklung e.V.

Folgen Sie uns auf Facebook!

© 2019 KATE Umwelt & Entwicklung e.V.

Chimborazo - auf den Spuren Alexander von Humbolds.

Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Destination Chimborazo

Das delveloPPP Projekt "Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Touristendestination Chimborazo Ecuador" besteht aus einer Arbeitsgemeinschaft von Ventura Travel und KATE. 

Projektlaufzeit: 2019 - 2021

Im Allgemeinen geht es bei dem Projekt um die Förderung der community-basierten Vermarktung der nachhaltigen Tourismusdestination „Naturreservat Chimborazo“ in Ecuador. Ecuador mit seinen „Cuatro Mundos“ Amazonas-Gebiet, Anden, Küste und Galapagos-Inseln traditionell ein wichtiges Reiseziel dar. Gerade das Naturreservat Chimborazo birgt in diesem Zusammenhang ein enormes Potential. Es ist ein zentraler Ort, an dem so gut wie alle touristischen Reisegruppen auf der Durchreise von Ecuador vorbeikommen. Der knapp 6.300 Meter hohe interaktive Chimborazo-Vulkan begeisterte dabei nicht nur in der Vergangenheit europäische Naturforscher wie Alexander von Humbold oder Edward Whymer, sondern auch heute zahlreiche Wissenschaftler und TouristInnen. Im Nationalpark rund um den Chimborazo leben neben den Vicuña Herden (eine Alpaka-Art) zudem viele indigene Gemeinden mit ihren Traditionen und kulturellen Bräuchen.

 

Der Gemeindetourismus bietet insbesondere in dieser Region die Möglichkeit, mit der lokalen Bevölkerung auf Augenhöhe in Kontakt zu treten und authentische Einblicke in Leben, Land, Tradition und Kultur zu erfahren.

Ziele des Projekts

Ziel des Projekts ist es ein Gemeinde- und Tourismusnetzwerk aufzubauen, das mit lokalen und europäischen Reiseveranstaltern wie Ventura nachhaltige Tourismusprodukte entwickelt und über ein Buchungsportal vermarktet. Die nachhaltige Destinationsentwicklung der Region Chimborazo und der Aufbau / die Vermarktung der nachhaltigen Gemeinden über das Buchungsportal stellen die beiden „Herzstücke“ des Projekts dar. Das Buchungsportal soll sich an Reisende richten und direkte Buchungsmöglichkeiten bspw. von nachhaltigen Unterkünften und sonstigen touristischen Produkten anbieten.

Geplante Projektergebnisse & aktuelle Fortschritte

Entwicklung nachhaltiger Tourismusprodukte 

Gemeinde- und Unternehmensnetzwerk der Destination Chimborazo entwickelt derzeit mit dem europäischen Reiseveranstalter Ventura und weiteren Reiseveranstaltern neue und qualitativ hochwertige nachhaltige Tourismusangebote in der Destination. Zum Beispiel folgende Produktideen befinden sich aktuell im Prozess: Errichtung eines zweiten Zufahrtsweg zum Vulkanberg Chimborazo mitsamt Schutzhütte in einer anderen Provinz, Entwicklung einer Vicuña Route etc.

Nachhaltiges Destinationsmanagement

  • Aufbau und Entwicklung eines Destinationsmanagementsystems für das Naturreservat Chimborazo

  • Ernennung der Destinationsmanagerin vom Umweltministerium in Ecuador

  • Konstituierung des Nachhaltigkeitsrates 

  • Festlegung der Destinationsgrenzen und Entscheidung der beteiligten Gemeinden befinden sich aktuell im Prozess

  • Workshops zur Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen Leitbildes und Aktionsplans als Destinationsstrategie 

Aufbau eines Buchungsportals für nachhaltige Tourismusprodukte

  • Inhaltliche Ausgestaltung des Buchungsportals ist weitgehend umgesetzt: Ziel ist es das Buchungsportal auf der ITB ( führende Fachmesse der internationalen Tourismus-Wirtschaft) vorzustellen 

  • Über das Buchungsportal als Vertriebsplattform für nachhaltige Destinationen und Gemeindetourismus soll eine internationale Vermarktung und Positionierung der Destination Chimborazo erzielt werden

Steigerung der lokalen Wertschöpfung des Naturreservats Chimborazo

Generierung zusätzlicher Einkommensquellen aus dem Tourismus für die beteiligten Gemeinden

Beteilligte Projektakteure

Koordiniert werden die Aktivitäten des Projekts durch KATE und Ventura Travel.

Die Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) unterstützt das Engagement finanziell.

Ihre Ansprechpartner für das Projekt Nachhaltige Destination Chimborazo

Günter Koschwitz

Projektkoordinator

+49 711 248397 - 0

koschwitz[at]kate-stuttgart.org

Janina Groß

Projektmanagerin

+49 711 248397 - 19

janina.gross[at]kate-stuttgart.org